The U.S. Chess Trust is a proud sponsor of this tournament.

The Denker Tournament of High School Champions: Atulya Shetty (R), James Stallings (L) UTD Scholarship

The Denker Tournament of High School Champions

UTD Scholarship goes to Michigan Player

By Dewain Barber

Congratulations go to Atulya Shetty (MI) for winning the UTD Scholarship. His draw in the last round with Darwin Yang (TX) created this year’s Denker Co-Champions result, Shetty (MI) and Yang (TX). Third through Fifth was a tie between Sam Schmakel (IL), Michael Brown (CA-S), Deepak Aaron (NY), and Kevin Bu (MN). The $500 Ursula Foster Award was won by Darwin Yang (TX), Best Game was awarded to Eldon Nakagawa (HI) and Top Upset congratulations go to Carl Steele (ND).

I would like to thank GM Yasser Seirawan for attending the Closing Ceremony and presenting awards.

Our event next year will be in Madison, WI at the next US Open.

Click Here for Tournament Results