U.S. Women’s Chess Championship: Now and Then

2007 US Womens Championshion

Frank K. Berry 2007 US Women’s Championship: IM Irina Krush became the 2007 US Women’s Champion.

Ladies Chess

In the Spring of 1893, a few women met informally and organized the Women’s Chess Association of America.

In January, 1894 they elected their officers and had 75 members. The honorary members included English women’s champion Mary Rudge (1845-1919) and Irish women’s champion Mrs. Thomas Rowland (Frideswide Beechey) (1843-1919).

Women in Chess have come a long way!

Here’s to the continuing advancement of chess – for women and men alike!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>