2010 Scholar-Chessplayer Awards

February 8, 2010


Contact: Chuck Lovingood clovingood@uschess.org

The applications for the Scholar-Chessplayer Awards are due on March 1st 2010.

These annual scholarships are awarded by the U.S. Chess Federation and the U.S. Chess Trust to recognize outstanding achievements in chess and academics by High School students (juniors or seniors). High School students who have shown outstanding merits in academics, sportsmanship and chess are eligible to apply to these scholarships. Five awards of $1,500.00 each (total of $7,500) in scholarship money are available.

To apply for the Scholar-Chessplayer Award, you must be a current U.S. Chess Federation member and submit five copies of a completed application form, high school transcript showing all courses and grades, a letter of recommendation from a teacher, a letter of recommendation from a chess coach, an essay of no more than 500 words describing the positive influence that chess has had on your life, and a recent photograph.

Important Note for Electronic Submissions: Documents should be converted to PDF format. In the event that this isn’t possible, documents must be in Word Format (for Windows), Pages Format (for Apple). Photographs should be in JPG format.

Thanks to the generosity of it’s long-time supporters, the U.S. Chess Trust continues to fund many wonderful programs including the Scholar-Chessplayer Awards.

Please spread the word to potential donors to “Say Yes to Chess!” Donations to the U.S. Chess Trust are tax-deductible. The U.S. Chess Trust is a 501(c)(3) organization.

Special thanks to the National Scholastic Chess Foundation for their contribution to this program.

The United States Chess Federation (USCF), founded in 1939, serves as the governing body for chess in the United States and is now headquartered in Crossville, Tennessee. USCF is devoted to extending the role of chess in American society. It promotes the study and knowledge of the game of chess, for its own sake as an art and enjoyment, and as a means for the improvement of society. The USCF is a not-for-profit membership organization with over 80,000 members.
For additional information on the USCF see: http://www.uschess.org.

Good luck to all the chessplayers!

Last Year’s (2009) Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients were:

  • Adithya Balasubramanian, VA
  • Robert Lau, HI
  • Haotian Zheng, CT
  • Michael Thaler, NY
  • Troy Daly, FL
Leave a Reply