2015 Scholar-Chessplayer Awards: Now receiving applications. Deadline is March 1st, 2015.

2014 Chessplayer-Scholar Award Winners! Chess players shown are three of the five winners: Aleksandr, Varun and Jeevan.
2014 Chessplayer-Scholar Award Winners



February 1, 2015

Contact: info@uschesstrust.org / shouston@uschess.org


The annual National Scholar-Chessplayer Awards Program is accepting applications from High School Juniors & Seniors. Current members of the US Chess Federation, who have shown outstanding merit in academics, sportsmanship and chess are eligible.

This program is funded by the US Chess Trust (info@uschesstrust.org), and the National Scholastic Chess Foundation (nscfoffice@nscfchess.org).  Administration of the program is handled by the United States Chess Federation.

This program seeks to promote and recognize high school students, who present a positive image for chess.

Five scholarships of $1,500.00 each will be distributed.

You can download the application from the U.S. Chess Trust’s website.  Click on the link below. The deadline is March 1st, 2015.

Contact Susan Houston at the Scholastic Department of the USCF Office(931) 787-1234 x136 or email shouston@uschess.org with any questions.

Application Requirements:

Applicants: Submit FIVE copies of each of the following – OR ONE copy if sent as an email attachment in Word, PDF, or jpeg formats (email submission is preferred):

  1. Completed application form
  2. High School Transcript showing all courses and grades
  3. Letter of recommendation from a teacher
  4. Letter of recommendation from a chess coach
  5. An essay of no more than 500 words describing the positive influence that chess has had on your life
  6. A recent photograph of yourself – submit ONLY as a high quality jpeg photo.

Your application must be postmarked no later than March 1st, 2015.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

Send completed applications to:

U.S. Chess Federation
Attn: Scholastic Department – SCA
P.O. Box 3967
Crossville, TN 38557-3967
OR Email Attention: Susan Houston at shouston@uschess.org.  E-mail submissions are preferred.

A special thanks to the National Scholastic Chess Foundation for their contribution to this program.


Good luck to all the chessplayers!

Previous Winners

2014 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients

  • Jeevan Karamsetty (VA)
  • Varun Krishnan (CA)
  • Aleksandr Ostrovskiy (NY)
  • Arthur Shen (NJ)
  • Atulya Shetty (MI)

2013 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients

  • Miles Hinson, PA
  • Anna Matlin, NJ
  • Kevin Mo, PA
  • Benjamin Tong, CA
  • Thomas Ulrich, WI

2012 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients

  • Yang Dai, Virginia
  • Joshua Mu, North Carolina
  • Andrew Ng, New Jersey
  • Jesse Orlowski, California
  • Alexandra Wiener, Connecticut

2011 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients

  • Chaz Daly, FL
  • Andrew Ng, NJ
  • Eigen Wang, NY
  • Kevin Zhang, AZ
  • Andrew Shvartsman, NJ

2010 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients

  • Rohan Agarwal, CA
  • Richard Herbst, CO
  • Abby Marshall, VA
  • Jake Miller, NY
  • Victor Shen, NJ

About the U.S. Chess Trust

Thanks to the generosity of it’s long-time supporters, the U.S. Chess Trust continues to fund many wonderful programs including the Scholar-Chessplayer Awards.  Donations to the U.S. Chess Trust are tax-deductible.

The U.S. Chess Trust is an independent 501(c)(3), non-profit organization.

Created in 1967, the Trust was organized to promote, stimulate and encourage the study and play of the game of chess as a means of intellectual development. The Trust uses its resources for charitable purposes, including social, educational, scientific, historical endeavors. The U.S. Chess Trust takes an active role in supporting chess education programs across the nation. Our Trustees act without compensation, and are dedicated to the U.S. Chess Trust’s mission. Donations to the U.S. Chess Trust are tax-deductible.

For more information about the U.S. Chess Trust please visit: www.uschesstrust.org.

About the United States Chess Federation

The United States Chess Federation (USCF), founded in 1939, serves as the governing body for chess in the United States and is now headquartered in Crossville, Tennessee. USCF is devoted to extending the role of chess in American society. It promotes the study and knowledge of the game of chess, for its own sake as an art and enjoyment, and as a means for the improvement of society. The USCF is a not-for-profit membership organization with over 80,000 members.

For additional information on the USCF see: www.uschess.org.

About the National Scholastic Chess Foundation

The National Scholastic Chess Foundation (NSCF) is a non-profit foundation organized for educational purposes under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The NSCF was created in 1991 as a merger between the Westchester Chess Foundation (founded in 1985) and the Fairfield County Chess Foundation. The Executive Director of the NSCF is FIDE Master Sunil Weeramantry.

For additional information on the NSCF see: www.nscfchess.org.

Leave a Reply