2017 Samford Fellowship Awarded to Grandmaster Jeffery Xiong

The U.S. Chess Trust congratulates Grandmaster Jeffery Xiong for winning the 2017 Samford Fellowship!

By John Donaldson

The FRANK P. SAMFORD, JR. CHESS FELLOWSHIP, marking its thirty-first annual award, has selected Grandmaster Jeffery Xiong of Plano, Texas, as its 2017 Fellow. The Samford is the richest and most important chess fellowship in the United States, having awarded over two million dollars in the past three decades. It identifies and assists the best young American chess masters by providing top-level coaching, strong competition and access to study materials. The Fellowship also supplies a monthly stipend for living expenses so that the winners may devote themselves to chess without having financial worries. The total value of the Fellowship has been increased several times over the years and is now $42,000 annually. The prize is awarded for one year and can be renewed for a second year. The new winner’s term begins July 1, 2017.

Sixteen-year-old Jeffery Xiong is the reigning World Junior Champion and is currently the third-ranked player under 21 in the world at 2667 on the January 2017 FIDE rating list. Last year he made an even score in his U.S. Championship debut and won the B group of the Capablanca Memorial.

The winners were chosen by the Samford Fellowship Committee, consisting of Frank P. Samford III (son of Samford Fellowship founder Frank P. Samford, Jr.), former U.S. Chess Champion Grandmaster Yury Shulman and International Master John Donaldson. The winner’s potential was determined based on his chess talent, work ethic, dedication and accomplishments. The Fellowship is administered by the U.S. Chess Trust with particularly valuable services provided by Al Lawrence.

The Samford Chess Fellowship was created by the late Frank P. Samford, Jr., of Birmingham, Alabama. Mr. Samford was a distinguished attorney and CEO of Liberty National Life Insurance Company (now Torchmark). He was active in civic, business, political, educational and cultural affairs. Mr. Samford was also an enthusiastic competitor in chess tournaments. After providing financial support for several chess projects, he decided to do something significant for American chess. The result was the Samford Fellowship.

Since its inception, the Fellowship has proven very successful. Many Samford Fellows have become strong Grandmasters, members of the United States Olympiad team and US Champions. The 2016 Samford Fellow Wesley So is number four in the world on the January 2017 FIDE rating list, and four of the five members of the 2016 gold medal winning US Olympiad team were current or former Samford Fellows.

Generous contributions from the late Mrs. Virginia Samford and the Torchmark Corporation support the Fellowship. The Samford Fellowship is a fitting memorial to an extraordinary man. The dedication, creativity and achievement that marked Mr. Frank P. Samford, Jr.’s life are examples for all chess players to admire and emulate.

Samford Winners:

  • 1987 Joel Benjamin
  • 1988 Maxim Dlugy
  • 1989 Patrick Wolff
  • 1990 Alex Fishbein
  • 1991 Ilya Gurevich
1992 Alex Sherzer
  • 1993 Ben Finegold
  • 1994 Gata Kamsky
1995 Josh Waitzkin
  • 1996 Tal Shaked
1997 Boris Kreiman
  • 1998 Dean Ippolito
  • 1999 Greg Shahade
  • 2000 Michael Mulyar
  • 2001 Eugene Perelshteyn
  • 2002 Varuzhan Akobian
  • 2003 Dmitry Schneider
  • 2004 Rusudan Goletiani
  • 2005 Hikaru Nakamura
  • 2006 David Pruess
2007 Josh Friedel
2008 Vinay Bhat
2008 Irina Krush
  • 2009 Ray Robson
  • 2010 Robert Hess
  • 2011 Alex Lenderman
  • 2012 Timur Gareev
  • 2012 Alejandro Ramirez
  • 2013 Sam Shankland
  • 2014 Daniel Naroditsky
  • 2015 Samuel Sevian
  • 2015 Kayden Troff
  • 2016 Wesley So
  • 2017 Jeffery Xiong

Photo Credit: Courtesy of Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis

Leave a Reply