"Nana Dzagnidze Wins Jermuk Women Grand Prix"

GM Nana Dzagnidze (Georgia), winner of the fourth leg

From FIDE.com

The FIDE Women Grand Prix series continued with Jermuk tournament which took place on 23rd June – 5th July 2010 in Jermuk, Armenia. FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov opened the fourth leg of the FIDE Women’s Grand Prix in the presence of the President of Armenia and the Armenian Chess Federation the Hon. Serge Sargissian.

GM Tatiana Kosintseva (Russia), second in Jermuk

This series is featuring the strongest women tournaments of all times and it is important to point out that there are three ex-world Champions, Maia Chiburdanidze, Antoaneta Stefanova and Xu Yuhua, taking part, as well as the highest ranked women players in the world. Three events were completed previously, when Humpy Koneru won in Istanbul, Xu Yuhua won in Nanjing and Tatiana Kosintseva dominated in Nalchik.

Georgian Grandmaster Nana Dzagnidze convincingly won the tournament by collecting impressive 9 points from eleven games. GM Tatiana Kosintseva suffered a defeat in the final round and remained point and a half behind the winner. Further point bellow are former World Champion Antoaneta Stefanova and Armenian representatives Lilit Mkrtchian and Elina Danielan.

Closing Ceremony

Final Ranking:
1. GM Dzagnidze Nana 2478 GEO – 9.0
2. GM Kosintseva Tatiana 2534 RUS – 7½
3. IM Mkrtchian Lilit 2477 ARM – 6½
4. GM Stefanova Antoaneta 2560 BUL – 6½
5. IM Danielian Elina 2473 ARM – 6½
6. GM Hou Yifan 2589 CHN – 6.0
7. GM Cramling Pia 2536 SWE – 5½
8. WGM Shen Yang 2452 CHN – 5½
9. GM Chiburdanidze Maia 2514 GEO – 4½
10. GM Xu Yuhua 2484 CHN – 4.0
11. WGM Kovanova Baira 2366 RUS – 3.0
12. IM Fierro Baquero Martha L 2363 ECU – 1½

The tournament was dedicated to the memory of Henrik Kasparian, one of the greatest chess composers of all time. Jermuk also hosted one of the men’s Grand Prix tournaments, which was won by Vassily Ivanchuk.

Visit the Official website

After Jermuk, the last two tournaments will be held in Ulanbaatar, Mongolia, on 29 July – 12 August 2010, and Santiago, Chile, on 27th October- 9th November 2010. The overall winner of the Grand Prix series will challenge the 2010 Women World Champion to a match for the title in 2011.

Standings of FIDE Women Grand Prix after the fourth leg of the series.

Leave a Reply